top of page

Choose Joy

So it’s been six weeks since Baxter came home and what a six weeks it’s been. We’ve taught him to sit, steered him through a bought of conjunctivitis, cleaned up more poo than I thought possible and discovered that an ice cube can bring endless joy when you’re a few weeks old. Quite the learning curve for all involved!

Now I knew there’d be a lot of teaching going on in his first few months, teaching his name, how to sit, how to lie down, how to give his paw (still unsure what benefit this has other than I can sometimes turn it into a high five.) But what I didn’t realise was all the other things you have teach a new puppy. For example, gravity. Poor sod doesn’t have a clue that if there isn’t anything underneath him propping him up, he will plummet toward the floor with a bang. Cue endless grabbing of his bum to haul him back onto my lap when he’s wriggled free. Also, spatial awareness in general. He can get up onto the sofa by himself (huge claps all round) but sometimes launches himself too soon and either misses completely or grips onto the edge like Mufasa making me feel like Scar. I end up feeling so guilty I pull him up into a bear hug (no one wants to feel like an evil Disney uncle.) I think the poor bugger is getting a sofa jumping complex.

Another big learn has been bravery. You can’t teach that unfortunately but you can help them feel sassier so they can take on the world. What I didn’t realise was the things he’d need bravery for. We met a humongous Golden Retriever whilst on a walk last week, the gorgeous girl was genuinely mountain lion sized and Baxter was so courageous in making friends with her I felt a little swell of pride as I watched them frolic. Half an hour later we’re sat in the garden and a butterfly lands on his belly and he jumps as if he’s been electrocuted and proceeds to hide under my legs for five minutes. Seems he’d used his bravery quota up for that day.

What I also didn’t account for was what he’d teach us. Firstly, if you like the look of something, throw yourself into it with gusto. Really sink your teeth into it. Literally, in Baxters case (see the note below) but honestly his enthusiasm is quite contagious.

Something he’s taught me to re-appreciate is naps. There’s nothing that can’t be solved by a little sleep, 16-18 hours a day in Baxters case. I came home horrendously hung over two weeks ago to find him to be the perfect companion to watch Sharknado 3 with (best of the trilogy in my professional opinion!) and then to nap with on the sofa. I woke up to him pinning my arms under the blanket whilst he was licking my face. A true hung over delight. Mostly though, he’s taught us to choose joy, in every situation. Everything pleases and excites him in equal measure and it’s hard not to be as utterly thrilled as he is each time he nails a command or manages a poo outdoors. He just doesn’t see the downside to anything and doesn’t have to worry about whether inflation will affect his take home wage or the outcome of the Sharknado 3 finale vote, both serious issues for myself at present. And this makes him a fantastic little guy to spend time with. So I'm going to be like Baxter, and I'm going to choose joy.



Latest Post
Lust of the Month
bottom of page